Megadeth's new single “Night Stalkers” from the new album 2022

Megadeth’s new single “Night Stalkers” from the new album 2022

Dave Mustaine, along with his band Megadeth, continues to introduce fans to his new (sixteenth) album “The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!”, which is due out on September 2.

A new song and video for it produced by Rafael Pensado and directed by Leo Liberti, “Night Stalkers: Chapter II” is the next episode in the multi–headed saga featuring the band’s mascot Vic Rattlehead.

Megadeth's new single “Night Stalkers” from the new album 2022

The composition itself turned out to be quite fast, furious, full of beautiful riffs and solo parts, lasting six minutes. As a guest, there is a rapper and frontman of the band Body Count Ice-T, who inserted an oral verse into the song. That’s what Mustaine said:

I like Ice a lot. I really admire what he’s done. He’s a talented person. The opportunities he was presented with, he made them work for him… We just have a friendship that’s based on us being outspoken in our genre.

In general, Ice-T is known for his love of heavy music. For example, he collaborated with Slayer, Motörhead, Pro-Pain and Six Feet Under, and also performed with Black Sabbath.

The new composition is dedicated to the 160th Special Aviation Regiment of the US Army, also known as Night Stalkers. By the way, Ice-T is a former ranger himself, so his participation in the recording in this regard is not accidental. Mustaine spoke about “Night Stalkers”:

It’s a brutal song. I can’t remember if that was the fastest one or not. But “Night Stalkers” is about the 160th Battalion with the United States Army, and it’s all the black-ops helicopters that go in at night — nobody knows they’re there; they’re in, they’re out. And I had my buddy Ice-T join me on a part in the middle of it, because Ice was a ranger for the army, and he did two tours over in Afghanistan, I think it was. I think that was back in ’91, when I first met him.

The new album will include 12 new tracks:

  1. The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!
  2. Life In Hell
  3. Night Stalkers (feat. Ice T)
  4. Dogs Of Chernobyl
  5. Sacrifice
  6. Junkie
  7. Psychopathy
  8. Killing Time
  9. Soldier On!
  10. Célebutante
  11. Mission To Mars
  12. We’ll Be Back
  13. Police Truck (DEAD KENNEDYS cover)
  14. This Planet’s On Fire (Burn In Hell) (Sammy Hagar cover) (feat. Sammy Hagar)